Tutorial : Fabric Covered Buttons : Metal Bases

This tutorial combines two wonderful things…using up tiny scraps of that beautiful fabric that you just can’t bear to throw away and making your very own buttons! There are two different types of buttons that you can cover, plastic bases and metal bases. This tutorial covers metal bases and you can find the tutorial for plastic bases here.

I’m also giving away a little set of the bits that you need to get started so that you can try it out yourself.

Here are all the things that you will need to get started. A button covering tool, scraps of fabric, scissors, a pen for marking out your circle and some buttons ready to cover.

When you buy a tool it will have a guide to show you how big to cut your fabric for each size of button. Using this, cut out your circles of fabric.

Next, take the circle of fabric and lay it face down over the corresponding size hole for your button in the bottom of the tool. Then pop your button, also face down, on top.

Holding onto the edges of the fabric, push the button down into the mould so that the fabric is pulled tight up around the edges.

If you want to ensure that a particular part of your fabric will be central on the finished button then simply turn the tool over at this point and check.

Now you need to tuck the edges of the fabric onto the metal teeth of the button, until it is all neatly hooked under.

Now you are ready to pop the back onto your button. Rest the back on top, ridge facing downwards. Place the top of the tool on top, matching up the size and press down firmly until you hear it snap into place.

And here is the finished button! If you want to win a little set of bits to give it a go yourself then leave a comment on this post and I will pick a winner at random on Sunday. I will post you a little package with a lovely letter typed on my trusty typewriter, with lots of ideas for your buttons!

If you fancy making your own beautiful fabric covered buttons then you can buy a tool from Amazon. If you purchase one through the links in my post you are helping to support my blog as I get a small referral fee from Amazon. Thank you!

This entry was posted in DIY, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Tutorial : Fabric Covered Buttons : Metal Bases

  1. j cook says:

    Please please please let me know where to buy a button covering tool x

  2. Mummy Giles says:

    Very good instructions on making covered buttons. I think the excellent photos by Matthew show very clearly how to do the job properly. XX

    • smiffysmrs says:

      Thats exactly what I said to her, i’ve always been a bit baffled by how they are made, I’m sure I’d still muck it up but George has made it look so super easy. ๐Ÿ™‚
      See you soon xxxx

  3. soscone says:

    Great tutorial sweetie, well done! and really pretty fabric choices xxx

  4. What a great tutorial! So clear, and it makes me want to start making my own buttons right away! So count me in on the giveaway ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Rachael says:

    Oh I’d like to enter your giveaway please ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Lottie says:

    Brilliant, could do with that tool to help me make my cross stitch buttons i am having great difficulty in doing so

  7. Heather says:

    That’s pretty cool. I’ll have to look for that at my fabric store.

  8. Anna says:

    Oooh i’d very much like to enter this giveaway. Count me in please. Thank you. xx

  9. Caroline says:

    You make it look too easy!! Hope I can make them half as good as you!

  10. Awesome! Even I think i will be able to do that. I love how you make it sound so simple & easy. Cheers Chick xx

  11. Nikki Cleveland says:

    I’m really impressed with your first tutorial George. Great pictures that make every step clear (Matt Cleveland is the photographer and he always takes amazing photos!). I think that there will be lots of buttons being made this weekend and it will all be down to you! Inspiring!
    I’m looking forward to seeing what you will be helping us all with next. xxxx Nikki xxxx

  12. Emma says:

    Great tutorial! These look fantastic :))

  13. This is such a easy way to make custom Covered buttons. Thanks for these pictures and method to make custom buttons.

  14. Kath Hewitt says:

    This is something I have always been to scared to try, not any more ~ thank you. I also loved your tea towel apron. x

  15. Becky Hudson says:

    Wow. You have opened my creative eyes. The possibilities for my leftover material are endless. Looking forward to the next tutorial. ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Vikki says:

    I didn’t know this tool existed! It will make great use of scraps of fabric and your pictures make it look so simple- thank you!

  17. Manie says:

    Hi. You say “when you buy a tool it will have a guide to show you how big to cut your fabric for each size of button. Using this, cut out your circles of fabric” Can I assume that the outer size of the top of the tool would be the guide? In other words, can I use the top of the tool as a guide to determine how big to cut the fabric for the specific size of the button? I just bought one as a small gift for my wife, but do not see any guide anywhere on the package.

    • Hi Manie,

      The fabric needs to be a bit bigger than the top of the tool, for a 22mm button I use a circle of fabric that is 40mm across. Most tools have circle guides on the back of the packaging. However, if in doubt cut bigger and the excess can be trimmed.

      Georgina

      • Manie says:

        Thank you, I guess it is a question of trial and error….Merry Christmas to you and your family!

      • That is annoying they didn’t provide you with a guide! I hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas too!

      • Manie says:

        yes, it is annoying, but I am curious to why the top part (red in the illustration) has such a peculiar form. Why is it not the same oval form as the bottom part? (Beige in the illustration? I think that it was made like that so it could serve as the guide, in other words, one can use the semi-circle shape to draw a circle on the fabric. I will try that and see.

Leave a Reply

