Sandcastle Yarns

There is a lovely little wool shop in Lee-on-Solent called Sandcastle Yarns. I used to live closer but since I moved to Southsea I haven’t been able to visit it as often. However the other day I popped in to have a look around and of course I found some wool to fall in love with.

I like writing about where I buy my fabric and wool from for several reasons. Firstly I always get really excited and I love to share my excitement and show you all my treasure! Secondly its important to let people know that these shops are out there so that we can support them and keep them in business. Although its great to buy online sometimes, you can’t beat getting to pick your wool up from a lovely shop, full to bursting with inspirational colours and textures.

Plus the lady who owns this shop is ace and is always happy to help you with a project. I took in a ball of chunky wool once and asked her if she thought there was enough left to make a pair of wristwarmers…she gave me advice, number of stitches and rows etc and bingo a lovely handmade Christmas present for my sister!

Lots of choice, oh and they sell fabric too!

Always a large choice of sock yarn

They pile up their yarns on lovely stands

This entry was posted in Treasure Hunting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sandcastle Yarns

  1. It looks lovely, all those pretty colours!!

  2. rea says:

    I wish we had more shops like that over here, I’ll have to come visit and get you to take me on a tour of all the wool and fabric shops 🙂

  3. Angelina says:

    This shop looks like my kind of shop. Well worth a visit next time I am in the area. x

  4. Em says:

    wow this shop looks like my idea of heaven. Ill have to pay a visit there some time! 🙂 Gorgeous blog too. Will def be back 🙂

  5. Amy Evans says:

    Lovely! Must put this on my list of places to visit soon 🙂

  6. smiffysmrs says:

    I havent been there in such a long time, it really is like a little treasure trove of loveliness isnt it?

  7. Nicola says:

    I love Sandcastle Yarns! I work full-time and struggle to squeeze my knitting in but every Wednesday night they run a Knitter Natter group which I have made a few great friends from 🙂

Leave a Reply

