My heirloom quilt – the next panel

I went back to Somerset this weekend to go to a wedding. It was lovely to see Jo and Ed getting married and also to spend time with my Mum, Dad, sister and brother-in-law. As usual I found it completely impossible to leave the house without some sewing and I thought it was appropriate to take some hexagons for my heirloom quilt with me as it was my Mum that taught me this type of patchwork. I had stitched a big pile of hexagons onto their templates and my big sister H-M (Hollie-Martine) decided to arrange them for me. I think its really special that she designed the layout of this panel and I’m going to stitch them together and add it into my quilt. Every time I look at this panel it will remind me of my sister and a lovely family weekend.

H-M sorting out a pattern

The finished design, ready to be stitched.

This entry was posted in My Heirloom Quilt and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My heirloom quilt – the next panel

  1. Looking good George! Wish I had the patience for it!

  2. smiffysmrs says:

    Its going to be such an amazing piece once its finished

  3. Adele says:

    This is really coming along well now isn’t it! Just thought i’d let you know that you inspired me to start my own hexagon quilt using the leftovers from my hexagon cushions as I always seem to have one or two…thank you 🙂 x

  4. Pingback: My heirloom quilt – the second panel | Georgina Giles

Leave a Reply

