A lick of paint and an old French map

I bought this set of drawers in an antique shop last month and they were in desperate need of a makeover. They were covered in cobwebs so I started by giving them a good scrub! I love wood so I wasn’t going to change anything about the outside, but I had plans for the drawers. I started by cleaning them out and then sealed up any holes with glue. Then I painted the inside edges in a creamy colour and lined them with an old French map. My Dad knows how much I love maps and gave me this one which used to come on holiday with us every year.

The finished drawers

My favourite map pages are the ones with sea so I used one in each drawer.

Perfect dinosaur display!

This was the original plan for the drawers – fill them with mini monsters!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A lick of paint and an old French map

  1. what an awesome idea, i love that it keeps with the oldie worldy theme as the wood itself has that old, slightly distressed look. Very inventive Miss Giles

  2. Nikki cleveland says:

    It looks really nice George xx

  3. What a lovely little set of drawers! I love the photo of your wee monsters sticking out! I like lining drawers with pretty paper too. As a child, my drawers were lined with the paper that my mum had received my baby gifts in when I was born, needless to say it now looks very ‘retro’!

    • I love the little knobs on the drawers too! I’m going to use them for displaying monsters in at fairs so I’m pleased you think they look good. That is such a lovely thing for her to do.

  4. xthreadbearx says:

    Ah, I love this! I fancy doing a bit of furniture renovation. It makes such a difference, doesn’t it?! You did such a great job on this. I love the map idea!!

  5. Aaw the mini monsters in the drawers look so sweet! I really want to find a wooden table to customise. I love the maps idea 🙂

  6. Paula Bailey says:

    I’m so pleased you left the outside as it was. I love maps too – and I love drawer linings. I recently found some old newspapers underneath the flattened out wrapping paper my grandmother had lined some drawers with. They’ll stay, with another layer on top to preserve them. 🙂

  7. Pingback: Dinosaurs at the fair | Georgina Giles

Leave a Reply

