My giant knitted rug

This time last month I wrote a post about my amazing discovery whilst on holiday…the Sheep Shed in Ludlow, where I bought a pair of gigantic knitting needles! I shredded some jersey fabric and got to work. I have to sit on a stool as the needles are so long! I was going to make a bath mat, but once I had stood on it I decided that it simply had to be a super squishy rug to go by my bed.

My jersey fabric ready to go.

The first row

I love using two colours because it makes a lovely random pattern

I changed colours when I ran out of fabric

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to My giant knitted rug

  1. Beautiful! I have to get me some of these needles!x

  2. This is epic! I have a project in mind for my jersey yarn but it is one of a super long list of to dos. I really like the doubled up colours. Yey for giant crafting! X

  3. I β™₯ it! How ginormous did it end up?

  4. Zoe says:

    I really want some giant needles now, that looks fab!

  5. Angelina says:

    This looks amazing. Another brilliant creation. Is there nothing that you cant turn your hand to. You certainly have lots of ideas.

  6. this is really cool! I was given some massive knitting needles, but i was never quite sure what to do with them, but this is a fantastic idea!

  7. xthreadbearx says:

    This is brilliant! It looks like it would be such a comfortable rug to have in your room. I like the marling you did πŸ™‚

  8. Emma says:

    Wow – it turned out really well πŸ™‚

  9. Helen says:

    That’s beautiful Georgina! I tried using those needles at a craft fair last year – man alive they are an all-over-body-workout!!!
    Helen

  10. Michelle says:

    Wow that’s amazing! I had no idea you could get knitting needles that big!The rug is beautiful! xxx

  11. So Scone says:

    Love this! I’m just making a crochet bath mat to match the vintage hexagon tiles in our bathroom

  12. Reblogged this on ButtonsandPickles and commented:
    Hurrah for enormous knits. Thank you Georgina, I’m off to buy some huuuuge needles!

  13. Fab rug, love it! You even fit in time between your crafting to keep your floor super shiny! Now that is impressive (and where I fall down!)

Leave a Reply

