Hello!

The super secret project that I have been working on for the last six months can now be revealed as I have just met my niece! I set myself the seemingly impossible task of making a feminine but not overly girly quilt, that she could snuggle up in as a baby and also enjoy as she gets older. I’m so pleased and proud of the finished quilt.

Its so big I’m stood on top of a table in my window!

I picked all of the lovely fabrics from The Eternal Maker.

Her Dad is an amazing guitar player so this linen had to be included.

I particularly love the fabric with all the clothes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Hello!

  1. Oh wow! That is one beautiful quilt! Your niece will LOVE it, I’m sure ๐Ÿ™‚ x

    • Thank you. She is only a week old but she is already looking around at colours and patterns. I hope the colours and shapes on the quilt entertain her until she is a bit older.

  2. Alex says:

    Lovely, i love the fabric with clothes on it, she will love it x

  3. Bee says:

    Gorgeous – so nice to see something different to pink for a girl – I have always loved blue … Bee x

  4. Annelies says:

    Wowie – that explains why your heirloom quilt is coming along a bit slower ๐Ÿ˜‰ It’s absolutely gorgeous! x

  5. That is just stunning! The great thing about it is it looks like it can be endlessly washed – always important with little ones. Well done!
    x

  6. This is beautiful! She is one lucky niece. How long did it take you?

    • Thank you! Months! I spent ages choosing the fabrics, then washing everything, cutting it out and then choosing the layout – I wanted it to be perfect. Then I quilted it on the hottest days we had (hot work!) and the binding was a bit of a mission too! All worth it though.

  7. Paula Bailey says:

    That’s gorgeous. What a lovely gift.

  8. Pingback: uh oh… | modflowers โœฟ

  9. Angelina says:

    What a fabulous present. I’m sure this will become a family heirlom. What a lucky little girl.

  10. Kath Hewitt says:

    It’s beautiful Georgina, your niece is sure to treasure it. I love how you have chosen fabrics to reflect the family, very special indeed. Kath x

  11. Your quilt is totally beautiful. x

  12. sewsouthsea says:

    Absolutely gorgeous

  13. So beautiful! Great choice of colours

    • Thank you – it was hard using colours that I wouldn’t normally pick but I was very pleased with how it turned out. Plus when I arrived at her party yesterday, my niece was curled up asleep on it – success!

Leave a Reply

