Learning to felt

Last Saturday I went to a workshop at Making Space called “A Complete Introduction to Felt”. I have made some flat pieces of felt before, but this course included needle felting and making seamless items from felt too, which I was eager to learn about. We really did have a complete introduction and our teacher, Hilary Charlesworth, was so knowledgeable not just about the practical side but also told us lots about the history of felt too. Hilary runs lots of courses throughout the year, which range from felting to weaving and lots more besides. You can find a list here.

Here are my samples of flat felt, my needle felted tree and some felt balls.

This entry was posted in Workshops and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Learning to felt

  1. Bee says:

    I tried needle felting for the first time in the spring and just loved it – the possibilities are endless and it is great when you have a good teacher …. I love your little Christmas tree and and the red and white spotty felt … Bee x

  2. Kay says:

    I love your christmas tree. I really do wish we had some classes nearby for things like this.

  3. Michelle says:

    Oh I love felting, they look great! I must learn how to needle felt, it looks like so much fun 🙂 xxx

Leave a Reply

