Free machining quilting!

Back in January I wrote a post about a piece of patchwork that needed to be quilted so that I could add it to my blanket pile to keep me warm! I decided that I wanted to make a feature of the quilting because the patchwork itself is quite simple. So I backed the patchwork with a piece of blue fleece and used my darning foot and free machining to stitch hearts of various sizes through both layers. It does use a lot of thread, but I’m really pleased with the effect! I’m stitching hearts in different sizes and filling some in too. What do you think of this effect?

Heart PatchworkHeart Patchwork

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Free machining quilting!

  1. Angelina says:

    You must have a lot of patience. It looks wonderful.

  2. lovelucie1 says:

    A lovely idea; hearts floating about your blanket. I think the randomness of the hearts contrasts well with the structure of the patchwork.

Leave a Reply

