Book Review : Meet me at Mike’s

Meet me at Mike’s by Pip Lincolne is one of those books that I always go to if I need a bit of inspiration, because without even considering the projects inside, this is such a beautiful book that never fails to spark an idea or renew my enthusiasm for all things creative.

Sewing Book ReviewThe aesthetic appeal of this book is demonstrated through beautiful photography, an illustrated contents page and regular double page spreads with collages of treasured objects and haberdashery.

Sewing book reviewMeet me at Mike’s is not only a beautiful book, but also very practical. It is spiral bound, so will stay open at the page you need it to and all the full size patterns can be found in a pocket at the front of the book.

Sewing book reviewThe focus of this book is mainly sewing, but there is a good mix of projects, which also encompass knitting, crochet, paper craft and even a bit of baking at the back! The patterns include lovely toys to make, practical and useful homewares and even clothes. Whether you want to make something for yourself or are searching for the ideal gift, you will find it within these pages.

Sewing book reviewEach project has a shopping list, lists the crafty bits and bobs that you will need but probably already have, explains the needs of the pattern pieces and gives you handy advice to read before starting. I like the hand drawn diagrams, which I find easier to follow than photos and the guides to knitting and crochet in the back are brilliantly written.

Sewing book reviewMeet me at Mike’s is one of those books that I will go back to again and again, in particular to make the baby yoga pants, the teeny tiny shoes (below) and Morris the sensitive panda!

Sewing book review

Meet me at Mike’s is published by Hardie Grant Books and you can pick up your own copy from Amazon. If you like the sound of this book and purchase it through the links in my post you are helping to support my blog as I get a small referral fee from Amazon. Thank you!

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Book Review : Meet me at Mike’s

  1. jude says:

    I had this book as a present and love making the cat!

  2. jude says:

    here are both my cats – I have an urge to make more now! http://cocojude.wordpress.com/2012/12/16/cat/

  3. Ooh what a lovely looking book! Such beautiful projects and photos!

Leave a Reply

