Woolly nests!

What do you do with your wool scraps? I use small balls to add stripes to my scrappy blanket and even smaller pieces to make cheery pom poms. But I wanted to use even my tiny pieces of wool for something useful. So I decided to buy a bird feeder and leave them out for birds to take to make their nests with!

Wool scraps for birds

I did a bit of research and birds like all kinds of wool and string to add to their nests. It’s best to cut your wool into pieces which are 3 to 8 inches long. If they are shorter they aren’t of much use to the birds and if they are longer they pose a hazard to chicks. Let me know what you do with your scraps of wool and keep an eye out for woolly nests near you!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Woolly nests!

  1. Jumigurumi says:

    Hi! I also keep my wool scraps to use in other projects. I really don’t like to throw out good wool. I usually reuse the smaller ones to stuff my amigurumi.

  2. Oh wow I love this idea, it’s amazing. Thank you for sharing I am going to look at doing this and my girls will LOVE seeing the pile get smaller and the birds come and take them away.

  3. What a brilliant idea – I’ll definitely be doing this next spring. X

Leave a Reply

