Woodblock decoration cards

When I printed my frosty woodblock Christmas cards I also printed single snowflakes onto some thick corrugated card. I thought they would make sweet decorations and I attached them to some postcards I also printed.

Woodblock printed Christmas cards

If you would like to make your very own decorations you will need some printed cardboard, (pop here for my tutorial), postcards, some butchers twine or string and an eyelet setter.

Woodblock decoration cards

When my printed snowflakes were completely dry I used a hexagon template to cut around each one with a craft knife. I then used a brilliant tool called an eyelet setter to make the hole at the top of each one. Eyelet setters are brilliant because they mean you can put your hole exactly where you want it, rather than guessing with a hole punch. My card was also a bit thick for a normal hole punch. You will also need to cut corresponding holes in your postcards.

I used lengths of butchers twine which were 6 inches or 15 centimetres long, folded them in half and looped them through my decorations as the photos below show.

Woodblock printed Christmas decorations

Woodblock printed Christmas decorations

I wrote a message on the back of each one and popped them into brown envelopes. I like the idea of giving a card that can also be used as a decoration each year! Happy Making!

Woodblock printed Christmas cards

If you fancy making your own printed decoration cards then you can buy some useful supplies from Amazon. If you purchase anything through the links in my post you are helping to support my blog as I get a small referral fee from Amazon. Thank you!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

